Does Social Media make a difference?

You may or may not have noticed, but over the last couple of weeks, we’ve been trying to be more active on social media. Our Facebook, Twitter and (new!) Instagram accounts are buzzing with activity, and my smartphone is constantly giving me updates on the number of shares and retweets and likes for each post.

It also seems to be coinciding with the cafe being more busy that it was the previous month. Yesterday was our busiest ever random-day-of-the-week-with-nothing-special-going-on, with well over 50 people coming in, and a record amount of money into the pot to boot – happy days!

The question is – are the two related? I always thought that the social media community (over 1000 follows/likes on Twitter and Facebook), and the committed regular blog readers (we’ve never really hit over 200 for a blog post, so the readership are fewer in number but of a better quality, obviously 😉 ) formed part of the jigsaw of what TLC is achieving, but were not the core cafe going crowd; they were more the local regulars who were coming in via word of mouth, a flier dropped into their house (thank you to those volunteers who did that!) or by literally walking past.

So, I’d be really interested to know – does our presence on social media inspire you to come down to the cafe, or are you too far away / busy / timetable doesn’t match but like to hear about what we are up to and support us in the virtual community? Please do comment below, or send me a message – thank you!

 

4 thoughts on “Does Social Media make a difference?

  1. Social media is a great way to connect with people and showcase what you’re up to. Even though I can’t get up to see you guys as often as I’d like, I still feel in touch with what you’re up to through FB and Twitter. Social media is a community in itself, just an online one. I do think seeing posts of what’s happening prompts people to visit, especially when they can see photos of people -people just like them!

  2. I like hearing your updates about what is happening Anna. Also that different people contribute and tell their story.
    I live too far away to call in but if/when I’m up your way I will certainly consider it – assuming I remember when you’re open. x
    p.s. I would leave comments more often but you have to log in to do so on your blog

Leave a Reply

