Still A Lot To Unlearn

So we have just returned from a family holiday.

For the first part of our trip, we were camping; enjoying breakfast al fresco with a lovely fresh cup of coffee (the stove top espresso maker is surely a camping essential on everyone’s list, right?!), picnic lunches and perhaps a simple dinner cooked on the gas burner, or a treat of fish and chips by the harbour.

The second part of our trip, we stayed in a hotel. Breakfast was included, so most days we dined on a three course meal; cereal followed by a cooked breakfast followed by a croissant or some fresh fruit. Except that of course sometimes our eyes were bigger than our tummies so there was a lot of food left on our table. Thoughts wondered back to Leeds, to The Real Junk Food Network, and so one morning I returned to the dining room proudly with Tupperware and mayonnaise from the camping bag, and proceeded to smugly peel the remainder of the boiled eggs, and mash them up with the mayo in the tub. The leftover toast went in another box, and I was proud of the attention I garnered from this as I walked out, very obviously holding the intercepted waste in hand.

Now at this point, I must stress that this was NOT shnorrering (fabulous Yiddish word that basically means taking as much as you can for free); I took nothing from the communal breakfast buffet, merely the food that I knew for certain would be thrown away (having said that, I would be interested to know what happens to leftover hotel breakfast buffets, but that line of enquiry must be saved for another day…)

Back home last night, returning to an empty fridge, and back on Facebook after a two week husband-enforced cold turkey, I noticed TRJFP was hosting a food boutique with intercepted Leeds Market food today. Perfect. I went along, to get some things for the next few days, and also keen to share my hotel breakfast story to prove how much I have changed since learning about intercepted waste. But before I did, it was down to business and rummaging through the crates and crates of fruit and veg for items to fill my fridge. It was fabulous taking this perfectly edible food, knowing it would be devoured shortly at home for lunch; lettuces, tomatoes, those cute little red and orange peppers…

Finding a half green orange in amongst the perfectly edible fruit, I turned to Adam and asked him where the compost bin was, or what I should do with it. He looked at it, shrugged, cut it in half and gave the not-green-half of the orange back to me. Looks like I still have a lot to unlearn….

20140817-232212-84132023.jpg

Leave a Reply

