How are you doing?

I know it’s been a while. April was basically a write off for toastlovecoffee as Easter holidays combined with a bout of (mild) illness in the kids has left me with little time to focus on the project. But it’s been good to let it breathe for a bit, see what is going on in the big wide world in the meantime, and come back refreshed and buzzing…

And I’m sure you’ve been wondering, worrying even, about what is going on, how close we are to opening, or if I’ve given up already and retreated to my life pre-crazy-idea. So let me give you a bit of an update:

We are not near to opening yet. The last few weeks have given me a bit of a reality check of realistic objectives while my daughter is not yet in school, we are about to embark on a pretty major building project at home, and I’ve just been voted in as vice chair of my synagogue for the next two years (gulp!).

However, this does not mean that toastlovecoffee is dead in the water. Far from it. I am using this time to make more connections in Harehills, ask more people about their ideas for a community cafe, and research and apply for social enterprise support and funding.

It is exciting to know that the more people I speak to, the more apparent it is that the idea of a community space based around good food, good drinks and conversation is a sound one. It is becoming very clear that the ethos of toastlovecoffee will be a place where we can exchange the best of our cultures through food, and through that, build community together.

And a couple of dates for your diary:

22 May: If you are eligible, please vote. These local and European elections are important and we are lucky to have the right to vote. Please use your vote to vote for a politics of Hope Not Hate

14 September: Harehills festival. I will be there, with coffee and cake! I’ve offered to help behind the scenes, so if you are able, or know someone, who could offer some sponsorship money (they need about £3500 in total), or run a food stall please DM me or comment below. If you can’t do any of the above, please put the date in your diary and see you at Banstead Park!

Leave a Reply

