The Social Network

I’m not bragging but I have over 500 friends. On Facebook that is. And yesterday I joined LinkedIn and my email inbox is filled with new connections that have been made.

It seems as if the power of the network is greater than it ever has been, simply due to the very ease of communicating, updating and checking in.

But what if I had no one? Not one single person to tell about my day, or my daughter’s latest act of cuteness, or share a feel good story from the other side of the world, or something painful. But for some, this is their reality. They are living in our cities, perhaps only a seven minute drive from where you are reading this right now, completely and utterly alone.

Since meeting my new friend, who is desperate for sanctuary here in the UK after escaping a violent and life threatening situation with her young son in a different country, I am full of gratitude for the connections I have in my life, and am aware only too starkly of the help I receive on a daily, hourly basis because of these connections.

I am full of gratitude for the fact that I can confidently communicate my story and my needs. I am full of gratitude that I am a citizen in the country in which I live, and that brings rights and privileges that not everyone in our city has. I am full of gratitude that I know where to find help, or know someone I can ask who may know.

Wouldn’t it be wonderful if there was a place, a real place with good coffee and bakes, where we could all create and nurture new connections, especially with those people in our neighbourhoods who have none?

This article truly inspired me… Hope it does the same for you too!
Toast

And here’s my home brewed White Americano and freshly baked Primrose Bakery recipe croissant…. Well it was there 5 minutes ago.. All gone now though …. mmmmm!

20140130-115812.jpg

One thought on “The Social Network

Leave a Reply

